A Close Run Thing (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 1)

A Close Run Thing (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 1)

Author: Allan Mallinson

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781407057354

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 869

Download Now
From the Sunday Times bestselling author Allan Mallinson, a riveting read with the perfect combination of hero, history and adventure - perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian and Bernard Cornwell. "Convincingly drawn, perfectly paced and expertly written...A Joy to read" - Antony Beevor. "I can't wait to read the next in the series..." - ***** Reader review. "A captivating read..."- ***** Reader review. "Allan Mallinson is a truly gifted storyteller..."- ***** Reader review. ************************************************************************* Waterloo 1815. The war against Napoleon Bonaparte is raging to its bloody end at Waterloo. A young officer - Cornet Matthew Hervey - going about his duty suddenly finds himself at the crux of events. The decisions he has to make - both military and romantic - will change the course of his life, and possible have far reaching political consequences... A Close Run Thing is the first book in Allan Mallinson's Matthew Hervey series. His adventures continue in The Nizam's Daughters.
A Close Run Thing (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 1)
Language: en
Pages: 528
Authors: Allan Mallinson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-03-30 - Publisher: Random House

From the Sunday Times bestselling author Allan Mallinson, a riveting read with the perfect combination of hero, history and adventure - perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian and Bernard Cornwell. "Convincingly drawn, perfectly paced and expertly written...A Joy to read" - Antony Beevor. "I can't wait to read the next
A Close Run Thing
Language: en
Pages: 380
Authors: Allan Mallinson
Categories: Great Britain
Type: BOOK - Published: 2000 - Publisher: Bantam Press

In the tradition of Patrick O'Brian's beloved historical military adventures comes the first in a dashing new series featuring Cornet Matthew Hervey, a young cavalry officer in Wellington's army of 1815. A Close Run Thing For two decades, since the French Revolution, England and her allies have fought a seemingly
War and the Cultural Construction of Identities in Britain
Language: en
Pages: 290
Authors: Allan Mallinson
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-12-28 - Publisher: BRILL

The British have been involved in numerous wars since the Middle Ages. Many, if not all, of these wars have been re-constructed in historical accounts, in the media and in the arts, and have thus kept the nation's cultural memory of its wars alive. Wars have influenced the cultural construction
Words of Command
Language: en
Pages: 402
Authors: Allan Mallinson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-03-12 - Publisher: Random House

Once again, THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR Allan Mallinson captivates readers with an eminently readable piece of historical fiction. If you're a fan of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell and CS Forester, you'll love this. 'The Matthew Hervey books have a way of getting under your skin...reveals a man who is
What Do I Read Next? 2002
Language: en
Pages: 710
Authors: Neil Barron, Gale Group
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002 - Publisher: Gale / Cengage Learning

By identifying similarities in various books, this annual selection guide helps readers to independently choose titles of interest published in the last year.Each entry describes a separate book, listing everything readers need to know to make selections. Arranged by author within six genre sections, detailed entries provide: Title Publisher and