A Fatal Finale

A Fatal Finale

Author: Kathleen Marple Kalb

Publisher: Kensington Books

ISBN: 9781496727299

Category: Fiction

Page: 303

View: 843

Download Now
On the cusp of the twentieth century, Manhattan is a lively metropolis buzzing with talent. But after a young soprano meets an untimely end on stage, can one go-getting leading lady hit the right notes in a case of murder? New York City, 1899. When it comes to show business, Gilded Age opera singer Ella Shane wears the pants. The unconventional diva breaks the mold by assuming “trouser roles”—male characters played by women—and captivating audiences far and wide with her travelling theatre company. But Ella’s flair for the dramatic takes a terrifying turn when an overacting Juliet to her Romeo drinks real poison during the final act of Bellini’s I Capuleti e i Montecchi. Weeks after the woman’s death is ruled a tragic accident, a mysterious English duke arrives in Greenwich Village on a mission. He’s certain someone is getting away with murder, and the refined aristocrat won’t travel back across the Atlantic until Ella helps him expose the truth. As Ella finds herself caught between her craft and a growing infatuation with her dashing new acquaintance, she’s determined to decode the dark secrets surrounding her co-star’s fatale finale—before the lights go dark and the culprit appears for an encore . . . [Author Photo] Kathleen Marple Kalb lives with her family in Cheshire, Connecticut. She’s currently a weekend morning anchor at New York's 1010WINS Radio, capping a career she began as a teenage DJ in rural Western Pennsylvania. She’s currently working on the next Ella Shane historical mystery. Visit us at www.kensingtonbooks.com
A Fatal Finale
Language: en
Pages: 303
Authors: Kathleen Marple Kalb
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-28 - Publisher: Kensington Books

On the cusp of the twentieth century, Manhattan is a lively metropolis buzzing with talent. But after a young soprano meets an untimely end on stage, can one go-getting leading lady hit the right notes in a case of murder? New York City, 1899. When it comes to show business,
A Fatal Overture
Language: en
Pages: 310
Authors: Kathleen Marple Kalb
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-03-29 - Publisher: Kensington Books

During the first winter of the twentieth century, Gilded Age trouser diva Ella Shane refuses to dim the lights on her dazzling show business career for marriage—even to a dashing British duke. But the versatile mezzo-soprano may have to put it all on the line once murder takes centerstage .
A Fatal First Night
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Kathleen Marple Kalb
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-04-27 - Publisher: Kensington Books

It’s easy to be overlooked in Gilded Age Manhattan, but the Ella Shane Opera Company’s latest premier manages to attract adoring crowds, rave reviews, and a killer who’s a real showstopper! New York City, Fall 1899. Ahead-of-her-time coloratura mezzo Ella Shane has always known opening night to be a mess
Medical Record
Language: en
Pages: 740
Authors: George Frederick Shrady, Thomas Lathrop Stedman
Categories: Medicine
Type: BOOK - Published: 1885 - Publisher:

Books about Medical Record
Live, Local, and Dead
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Nikki Knight
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-02-08 - Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Death waits for snowman in Nikki Knight’s new Vermont-based cozy series, perfect for fans of Connie Archer and Mary Kennedy. In a fit of anger, radio DJ Jaye Jordan blows a snowman’s head off with a Revolutionary War-style musket. But the corpse that tumbles out is all too human. Jaye