American as Paneer Pie

American as Paneer Pie

Author: Supriya Kelkar

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781534439399

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 202

Download Now
“[A] charming novel [that] explores the complexity of immigration and identity.” —Teen Vogue An Indian American girl navigates prejudice in her small town and learns the power of her own voice in this brilliant gem of a middle grade novel full of humor and heart, perfect for fans of Front Desk and Amina’s Voice. As the only Indian American kid in her small town, Lekha Divekar feels like she has two versions of herself: Home Lekha, who loves watching Bollywood movies and eating Indian food, and School Lekha, who pins her hair over her bindi birthmark and avoids confrontation at all costs, especially when someone teases her for being Indian. When a girl Lekha’s age moves in across the street, Lekha is excited to hear that her name is Avantika and she’s Desi, too! Finally, there will be someone else around who gets it. But as soon as Avantika speaks, Lekha realizes she has an accent. She’s new to this country, and not at all like Lekha. To Lekha’s surprise, Avantika does not feel the same way as Lekha about having two separate lives or about the bullying at school. Avantika doesn’t take the bullying quietly. And she proudly displays her culture no matter where she is: at home or at school. When a racist incident rocks Lekha’s community, Lekha realizes she must make a choice: continue to remain silent or find her voice before it’s too late.
American as Paneer Pie
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Supriya Kelkar
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-18 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

“[A] charming novel [that] explores the complexity of immigration and identity.” —Teen Vogue An Indian American girl navigates prejudice in her small town and learns the power of her own voice in this brilliant gem of a middle grade novel full of humor and heart, perfect for fans of Front
Only in America!
Language: en
Pages: 112
Authors: Heather Alexander
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-11-02 - Publisher: Wide Eyed Editions

Discover unique, strange, funny, record-breaking, and downright unbelievable facts about every state in the USA.
Children's Writer's & Illustrator's Market 33rd Edition
Language: en
Pages: 417
Authors: Amy Jones
Categories: Reference
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-01-11 - Publisher: Penguin

The Most Trusted Guide to the World of Children's Publishing, fully revised and updated The 33rd edition of Children's Writer's and Illustrator's Market is the definitive and trusted guide for anyone who seeks to write or illustrate for kids and young adults. If you're a writer or an illustrator for
Children's Writer's & Illustrator's Market 2020
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Amy Jones
Categories: Reference
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-12-03 - Publisher: Penguin

The Most Trusted Guide to the World of Children's Publishing! The 32nd edition of Children's Writer's and Illustrator's Market is the definitive and trusted guide for anyone who seeks to write or illustrate for kids and young adults. If you're a writer or an illustrator for young readers and your
The Light in the Lake
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Sarah R. Baughman
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-09-03 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Go on a journey of discovery, magic, science, and hope with this remarkable debut novel about a girl's powerful connection to a mysterious lake. Twelve-year-old Addie should stay away from Maple Lake. After all, her twin brother, Amos, drowned there only a few months ago. But its crisp, clear water