Building from Waste

Building from Waste

Author: Dirk Hebel

Publisher:

ISBN: 3038215848

Category: Architecture

Page: 200

View: 516

Download Now
"Reduce, Reuse, Recycle, and Recover" is the sustainable guideline that has replaced the "Take, Make, Waste" attitude of the industrial age. Based on their background at the ETH Zurich and the Future Cities Laboratory in Singapore, the authors provide both a conceptual and practical look into materials and products which use waste as a renewable resource. This book introduces an inventory of current projects and building elements, ranging from marketed products, among them façade panels made of straw and self-healing concrete, to advanced research and development like newspaper, wood or jeans denim used as isolating fibres. Going beyond the mere recycling aspect of reused materials, it looks into innovative concepts of how materials usually regarded as waste can be processed into new construction elements. The products are organized along the manufacturing processes: densified, reconfigured, transformed, designed and cultivated materials. A product directory presents all materials and projects in this book according to their functional uses in construction: load-bearing, self-supporting, insulating, waterproofing and finishing products.
Building from Waste
Language: en
Pages: 200
Authors: Dirk E. Hebel, Marta H. Wisniewska, Felix Heisel
Categories: Architecture
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-25 - Publisher: Birkhäuser

”Reduce, Reuse, Recycle, and Recover“ is the sustainable guideline that has replaced the ”Take, Make, Waste“ attitude of the industrial age. Based on their background at the ETH Zurich and the Future Cities Laboratory in Singapore, the authors provide both a conceptual and practical look into materials and products which
The Architecture of Waste
Language: en
Pages: 306
Authors: Caroline O'Donnell, Dillon Pranger
Categories: Architecture
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-11-16 - Publisher: Routledge

Global material crises are imminent. In the very near future, recycling will no longer be a choice made by those concerned about the environment, but a necessity for all. This means a paradigm shift in domestic behavior, manufacturing, construction, and design is inevitable. The Architecture of Waste provides a hopeful
Research Anthology on Environmental and Societal Well-Being Considerations in Buildings and Architecture
Language: en
Pages: 562
Authors: Management Association, Information Resources
Categories: Architecture
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-28 - Publisher: IGI Global

When it comes to architecture, there has been a focus on sustainable buildings and human well-being in the built environment. Buildings should not only be environmentally friendly and sustainable, but dually focused on human health, wellness, and experience. This includes considerations into the quality of buildings, ranging from ventilation to
Cultivated Building Materials
Language: en
Pages: 184
Authors: Dirk E. Hebel, Felix Heisel
Categories: Architecture
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-06-12 - Publisher: Birkhäuser

NEXT GENERATION BUILDING MATERIALS The 21st century faces a radical change in how we produce construction materials – a shift towards cultivating, breeding, raising, farming, or growing future resources. This book presents innovative industrialized production methods for cultivated building materials, like cement grown by bacteria, bricks made of mushroom mycelium,
Green Building Illustrated
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Francis D. K. Ching, Ian M. Shapiro
Categories: Architecture
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-11-04 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

FULLY ILLUSTRATED, UPDATED GUIDE TO THE STRATEGIC DESIGN OF GREEN BUILDINGS In the tradition of Building Construction Illustrated, Francis D.K. Ching and Ian M. Shapiro offer a fully illustrated guide to the theory and practice of sustainable design. This guide provides architects, designers, and builders in the green design professional