The Changing Chicken

The Changing Chicken

Author: Jane Dixon

Publisher: UNSW Press

ISBN: 0868404772

Category: Cooking

Page: 211

View: 424

Download Now
Annotation. "The Changing Chicken: Chooks, Cooks and Culinary Culture provides a unique view of food systems and culture. The book describes activities in the hatcheries, on chicken farms, in processing plants, in supermarket delicatessens and in household kitchens." "A chicken-centred diet challenges assumptions about how foods become valued or are judged good to eat. By building on insights from the sociology of consumption, retail geography and political economy, author Jane Dixon develops a cultural economy framework for studying the shifting balance of power in food systems. And by comparing the situation in Australia with international trends in chicken meat production and consumption, she sheds new light on the complex issue of global food systems and national culinary cultures."--BOOK JACKET. Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
The Changing Chicken
Language: en
Pages: 211
Authors: Jane Dixon
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002 - Publisher: UNSW Press

Annotation. "The Changing Chicken: Chooks, Cooks and Culinary Culture provides a unique view of food systems and culture. The book describes activities in the hatcheries, on chicken farms, in processing plants, in supermarket delicatessens and in household kitchens." "A chicken-centred diet challenges assumptions about how foods become valued or are
Our changing poultry
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Jane Dixon
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 1951 - Publisher:

Books about Our changing poultry
Chicken
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Steve Striffler
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-06-01 - Publisher: Yale University Press

From inside the chicken factory, a report on the real cost of chicken for farmers, workers, and consumers
Sacred Cows and Chicken Manchurian
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: James Staples
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-09-18 - Publisher: University of Washington Press

Bovine politics exposes fault lines within contemporary Indian society, where eating beef is simultaneously a violation of sacred taboos, an expression of marginalized identities, and a route to cosmopolitan sophistication. The recent rise of Hindu nationalism has further polarized traditional views: Dalits, Muslims, and Christians protest threats to their beef-eating
Charlie Changes Into a Chicken
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Sam Copeland
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-02-07 - Publisher: Penguin UK

The first book in a hilarious new series perfect for fans of David Walliams, Kid Normal and Tom Gates. Charlie Macguffin tries to be an optimist, but in reality he's a bit of a worrier. Some of the things Charlie is worried about: · His brother (who is in hospital)