Confessions of Marie Antoinette

Confessions of Marie Antoinette

Author: Juliet Grey

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 9780345523914

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 959

Download Now
A novel for fans of Philippa Gregory and Michelle Moran, Confessions of Marie Antoinette blends rich historical detail with searing drama, bringing to life the first years of the French Revolution and the final days of the legendary French queen. Versailles, 1789. As the burgeoning rebellion reaches the palace gates, Marie Antoinette finds her privileged and peaceful life swiftly upended by violence. Once her loyal subjects, the people of France now seek to overthrow the crown, placing the heirs of the Bourbon dynasty in mortal peril. Displaced to the Tuileries Palace in Paris, the royal family is propelled into the heart of the Revolution. There, despite a few staunch allies, they are surrounded by cunning spies and vicious enemies. Yet despite the political and personal threats against her, Marie Antoinette remains, above all, a devoted wife and mother, standing steadfastly by her husband, Louis XVI, and protecting their young son and daughter. And though the queen secretly attempts to arrange her family’s rescue from the clutches of the rebels, she finds that they can neither outrun the dangers encircling them nor escape their shocking fate. Advance praise for Confessions of Marie Antoinette “Juliet Grey brings her trilogy on Marie Antoinette’s life to a triumphant finale, depicting with sensitivity and compelling vividness the collapse of a bygone glamorous world and the courageous transformation of its ill-fated queen.”—C. W. Gortner, author of The Queen’s Vow “A heartfelt journey with Marie Antoinette in her wrenching last days . . . We see the end looming that is still veiled from her eyes, and knowing her hopes are in vain makes it all the more poignant. Far from the ‘let them eat cake’ woman of legend, Juliet Grey’s Marie Antoinette reveals herself to be a person we can admire for her courage, her loyalty, and her love of her family and her adopted country, France.”—Margaret George Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
Confessions of Marie Antoinette
Language: en
Pages: 464
Authors: Juliet Grey
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-09-24 - Publisher: Ballantine Books

A novel for fans of Philippa Gregory and Michelle Moran, Confessions of Marie Antoinette blends rich historical detail with searing drama, bringing to life the first years of the French Revolution and the final days of the legendary French queen. Versailles, 1789. As the burgeoning rebellion reaches the palace gates,
The Queen's Confession
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Victoria Holt
Categories: Queens
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002 - Publisher:

The unforgettable story of Marie Antoinette, from her pampered childhood in imperial Vienna, to the luxury and splendour of her days as Queen of France, to her tragic end upon the scaffold in the bloodbath of the Revolution. Victoria Holt has recreated the life of Marie Antoinette through letters and
The Confession of a Child of the Century
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Alfred de Musset
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-12-06 - Publisher: Penguin UK

The Napoleonic Wars are over. Octave, a young Parisian, loves his mistress Elise - until he witnesses her being unfaithful. In despair, he descends into decadence and libertinism. However, the death of his father takes Octave to the countryside where he falls in love with Brigitte, a young widow who
National Register of Microform Masters
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Alfred de Musset
Categories: Books on microfilm
Type: BOOK - Published: 1976 - Publisher:

Books about National Register of Microform Masters
Marie Antoinette
Language: en
Pages: 300
Authors: Dena Goodman, Thomas E. Kaiser
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-10-23 - Publisher: Routledge

Marie-Antoinette is one of the most fascinating and controversial figures in all of French history. This volume explores the many struggles by various individuals and groups to put right Marie's identity, and it simultaneously links these struggles to larger destabilizations in social, political and gender systems in France. Looking at