Cooking for Picasso

Cooking for Picasso

Author: Camille Aubray

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 9780399177675

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 474

Download Now
For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist’s life. “A tasty blend of romance, mystery, and French cooking.”—Margaret Atwood, via Twitter The French Riviera, spring 1936: It’s off-season in the lovely seaside village of Juan-les-Pins, where seventeen-year-old Ondine cooks with her mother in the kitchen of their family-owned Café Paradis. A mysterious new patron who’s slipped out of Paris and is traveling under a different name has made an unusual request—to have his lunch served to him at the nearby villa he’s secretly rented, where he wishes to remain incognito. Pablo Picasso is at a momentous crossroads in his personal and professional life—and for him, art and women are always entwined. The spirited Ondine, chafing under her family’s authority and nursing a broken heart, is just beginning to discover her own talents and appetites. Her encounter with Picasso will continue to affect her life for many decades onward, as the great artist and the talented young chef each pursue their own passions and destiny. New York, present day: Céline, a Hollywood makeup artist who’s come home for the holidays, learns from her mother, Julie, that Grandmother Ondine once cooked for Picasso. Prompted by her mother’s enigmatic stories and the hint of more family secrets yet to be uncovered, Céline carries out Julie’s wishes and embarks on a voyage to the very town where Ondine and Picasso first met. In the lush, heady atmosphere of the Côte d’Azur, and with the help of several eccentric fellow guests attending a rigorous cooking class at her hotel, Céline discovers truths about art, culture, cuisine, and love that enable her to embrace her own future. Featuring an array of both fictional characters and the French Riviera’s most famous historical residents, set against the breathtaking scenery of the South of France, Cooking for Picasso is a touching, delectable, and wise story, illuminating the powers of trust, money, art, and creativity in the choices that men and women make as they seek a path toward love, success, and joie de vivre. Praise for Cooking for Picasso “Intrigue, art, food, and deception are woven together in a tale of love and betrayal around the life and legacy of Picasso. Touching and true, this well-written narrative made me long for my mother’s coq au vin and for the sun of Juan-les-Pins.”—Jacques Pépin, chef, TV personality, author
Cooking for Picasso
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Camille Aubray
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-08-09 - Publisher: Ballantine Books

For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist’s life. “A tasty blend of romance, mystery, and French cooking.”—Margaret Atwood, via Twitter The French Riviera, spring 1936: It’s off-season in the lovely seaside village of Juan-les-Pins, where
Seven Controlled Vocabularies and Obituary 2004. The Joy of Cooking
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Tan Lin
Categories: Poetry
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-03-01 - Publisher: Wesleyan University Press

Winner of the Association for Asian American Studies Book Award in Poetry (2012) How do we read a book as an object in a network, in a post-book, post-reading, meta-data environment? Seven Controlled Vocabularies models a generic book, a kind of field guide to the arts, wherein distinctions between various
Shooting Picasso
Language: en
Pages: 289
Authors: Vanna Tessier
Categories: September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-01-01 - Publisher: Snowapple Press

Books about Shooting Picasso
Down There on a Visit
Language: en
Pages: 322
Authors: Christopher Isherwood
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-11-19 - Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Consisting of four accounts of encounters with four male characters, each of them visited by a different Christopher Isherwood, and each set in a different time and place—Berlin in the 1920s (overlapping the time period of the Berlin Stories), the Greek Isles in the early 1930s, London in the late
Parts of a Past
Language: en
Pages: 260
Authors: Gilbert A. Harrison
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-06 - Publisher: iUniverse

Gilbert Harrison's memoir includes stories of his early family life in Los Angeles in the 1920's and 30's, an astonishing description of his being the first of two Americans in Nagasaki after the bomb dropped, and gripping accounts of his role in starting the American Veterans Committee, with its attendant