Dancing with the Octopus

Dancing with the Octopus

Author: Debora Harding

Publisher: Profile Books

ISBN: 9781782837015

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page:

View: 891

Download Now
*SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA DAGGER FOR NON-FICTION* 'Extraordinary' Kate Mosse 'Electric' Lemn Sissay 'Searing' Julia Samuel One Omaha winter day in 1978, when Debora Harding was just fourteen, she was abducted at knife-point, thrown into a van, assaulted, held for ransom, and left to die. But what if this wasn't the most traumatic, defining event in her childhood? Undertaking a radical project, Debora Harding dexterously shifts between the past and present to unravel her story. From the immediate aftermath to the possibility of restorative justice twenty years later, Dancing with the Octopus lays bare the social and political forces that act upon us after the experience of serious crime. A vivid, sly and intimate portrait of one family's disintegration, this is a darkly humorous and ground-breaking narrative of reckoning and recovery.
Dancing with the Octopus
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Debora Harding
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-08-27 - Publisher: Profile Books

*SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA DAGGER FOR NON-FICTION* 'Extraordinary' Kate Mosse 'Electric' Lemn Sissay 'Searing' Julia Samuel One Omaha winter day in 1978, when Debora Harding was just fourteen, she was abducted at knife-point, thrown into a van, assaulted, held for ransom, and left to die. But what if this wasn't
ADAMHA News
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Debora Harding
Categories: Alcoholism
Type: BOOK - Published: 1990 - Publisher:

Books about ADAMHA News
I Sure Hope This Book Gets Me Laid: The Zenith News Essays Vol. 2
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Jason Johnson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-09-07 - Publisher: Page Publishing Inc

Back Cover This new collection of Jason Johnson’s satirical essays include “Your Baby Is Ugly,” “Profiles in Douchery,” “Lies, Damn Lies, and Fake Boobies,” “The NRA Is Full of Spit,” “Just Being Insane Doesn’t Make You a Libertarian,” and the truly magical “69 Is a Magic Number.” Johnson targets a
Dancing with the Octopus
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Debora Harding
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-09-21 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

For readers of Educated and The Glass Castle, a harrowing, redemptive and profoundly inspiring memoir of childhood trauma and its long reach into adulthood. One Omaha winter day in November 1978, when Debora Harding was just fourteen, she was abducted at knifepoint from a church parking lot. She was thrown
Gifts of the Gods
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Andrew Dalby, Rachel Dalby
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-11-15 - Publisher: Reaktion Books

What do we think about when we think about Greek food? For many, it is the meze and the traditional plates of a Greek island taverna at the height of summer. In Gifts of the Gods, Andrew and Rachel Dalby take us into and beyond the taverna in our minds