Emotion in the Thought of Sartre

Emotion in the Thought of Sartre

Author: Joseph P. Fell

Publisher: New York, Columbia U.P

ISBN: 0231027567

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 254

View: 108

Download Now
Available for the first time in English, this is the definitive account of the practice of sexual slavery the Japanese military perpetrated during World War II by the researcher principally responsible for exposing the Japanese government's responsibility for these atrocities. The large scale imprisonment and rape of thousands of women, who were euphemistically called "comfort women" by the Japanese military, first seized public attention in 1991 when three Korean women filed suit in a Toyko District Court stating that they had been forced into sexual servitude and demanding compensation. Since then the comfort stations and their significance have been the subject of ongoing debate and intense activism in Japan, much if it inspired by Yoshimi's investigations. How large a role did the military, and by extension the government, play in setting up and administering these camps? What type of compensation, if any, are the victimized women due? These issues figure prominently in the current Japanese focus on public memory and arguments about the teaching and writing of history and are central to efforts to transform Japanese ways of remembering the war. Yoshimi Yoshiaki provides a wealth of documentation and testimony to prove the existence of some 2,000 centers where as many as 200,000 Korean, Filipina, Taiwanese, Indonesian, Burmese, Dutch, Australian, and some Japanese women were restrained for months and forced to engage in sexual activity with Japanese military personnel. Many of the women were teenagers, some as young as fourteen. To date, the Japanese government has neither admitted responsibility for creating the comfort station system nor given compensation directly to former comfort women. This English edition updates the Japanese edition originally published in 1995 and includes introductions by both the author and the translator placing the story in context for American readers.
Emotion in the Thought of Sartre
Language: en
Pages: 254
Authors: Joseph P. Fell
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 1965-01 - Publisher: New York, Columbia U.P

Available for the first time in English, this is the definitive account of the practice of sexual slavery the Japanese military perpetrated during World War II by the researcher principally responsible for exposing the Japanese government's responsibility for these atrocities. The large scale imprisonment and rape of thousands of women,
Oppression and the Human Condition
Language: en
Pages: 180
Authors: Thomas Martin
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

Oppression and the Human Condition is both a valuable teaching tool and an insightful addition to scholarship on the philosophy of Jean-Paul Sartre. Students and teachers will find it an excellent and accessible introduction to Sartre's existentialism, ideal for courses in existentialist and 20th century philosophy. Equally, Sartre scholars will
Commonplace Commitments
Language: en
Pages: 324
Authors: Peter S. Fosl, Michael J. McGandy, Mark D. Moorman
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-09-30 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

This volume explores the many dimensions of the work of Joseph P. Fell. Drawing from continental sources such as Martin Heidegger and Jean-Paul Sartre as well as North American thinkers such as John William Miller, Fell has secured a place as an enduring and important thinker within the tradition of
Existentialist Ontology and Human Consciousness
Language: en
Pages: 392
Authors: William L. McBride
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-09-13 - Publisher: Routledge

Existentialist Ontology and Human Consciousness The majority of the distinguished scholarly articles in this volume focus on Sartre's early philosophical work, which dealt first with imagination and the emotions, then with the critique of Husserl's notion of a transcendental ego, and finally with systematic ontology presented in his best-known book,
Sartre
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Thomas R. Flynn
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-12-29 - Publisher: Cambridge University Press

Jean-Paul Sartre (1905–1980) was one of the most influential thinkers of the twentieth century. Regarded as the father of existentialist philosophy, he was also a political critic, moralist, playwright, novelist, and author of biographies and short stories. Thomas R. Flynn provides the first book-length account of Sartre as a philosopher