Songwriters of the American Musical Theatre

Songwriters of the American Musical Theatre

Author: Nathan Hurwitz

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 9781317428336

Category: Music

Page: 326

View: 952

Download Now
From the favorites of Tin Pan Alley to today’s international blockbusters, the stylistic range required of a musical theatre performer is expansive. Musical theatre roles require the ability to adapt to a panoply of characters and vocal styles. By breaking down these styles and exploring the output of the great composers, Songwriters of the American Musical Theatre offers singers and performers an essential guide to the modern musical. Composers from Gilbert and Sullivan and Irving Berlin to Alain Boublil and Andrew Lloyd Webber are examined through a brief biography, a stylistic overview, and a comprehensive song list with notes on suitable voice types and further reading. This volume runs the gamut of modern musical theatre, from English light opera through the American Golden Age, up to the "mega musicals" of the late Twentieth Century, giving today’s students and performers an indispensable survey of their craft.
Modernists and the Theatre
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: James Moran
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-12-16 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Modernists and the Theatre is the first study to examine how theories of modernism intersect with those of the theatre within the works, philosophies and literary lives of six key modernist writers. Drawing on a wealth of unfamiliar archive material and fresh readings of neglected documents, James Moran reveals how
Songwriters of the American Musical Theatre
Language: en
Pages: 326
Authors: Nathan Hurwitz
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-09-01 - Publisher: Taylor & Francis

From the favorites of Tin Pan Alley to today’s international blockbusters, the stylistic range required of a musical theatre performer is expansive. Musical theatre roles require the ability to adapt to a panoply of characters and vocal styles. By breaking down these styles and exploring the output of the great
The Oxford Book of Children's Verse in America
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Donald Hall
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1990-12-13 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

Compiled by the award-winning poet and author of children's books, Donald Hall, this delightful anthology follows in the tradition of Iona and Peter Opie's classic Oxford Book of Children's Verse. Hall brings together poems written specifically for children and also those written for anyone and enjoyed by children and adults
The Mikado to Matilda
Language: en
Pages: 355
Authors: Thomas S. Hischak
Categories: Performing Arts
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-06-15 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers

In The Mikado to Matilda: British Musicals on the New York Stage, Thomas Hischak provides an overview of British musicals that made their way to Broadway, covering their entire history up to the present day. This is the first book to look at the British musical theatre with reference to
The Oxford Companion to the American Musical
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Thomas S. Hischak
Categories: Performing Arts
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-06-02 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

From the silver screen to the Great White Way, small community theatres to television sets, the musical has long held a special place in America's heart and history. Now, in The Oxford Companion to the American Musical, readers who flocked to the movies to see An American in Paris or