The Routledge Handbook of Urban Ecology

The Routledge Handbook of Urban Ecology

Author: Ian Douglas

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 9780429015267

Category: Science

Page: 1328

View: 410

Download Now
This second edition covers recent developments around the world with contributors from 33 different countries. It widens the handbook’s scope by including ecological design; consideration of cultural dimensions of the use and conservation of urban nature; the roles of government and civil society; and the continuing issues of equity and fairness in access to urban greenspaces. New features include an emphasis on the biophilic design of homes and workplaces, demonstrating the value of nature, in order to counter the still prevalent attitude among many developers that nature is a constraint rather than a value. The volume explores great practical achievements have occurred since the first edition, with many governments increasingly recognising and legislating on urban nature and green infrastructure matters, since cities play a major role in adapting to change, particularly to climate crisis. New topics such as the ecological role of light at night and human microbiota in the urban ecosystem are introduced. Additional attention is given to food production in cities, particularly the multiple roles of urban agriculture and household gardens in different contexts from wealthy communities to the poorest informal settlements in deprived communities. The emphasis is on demonstrating what can be achieved, and what is already being done. The book will help scholars and graduate students by providing an invaluable and up-to-date guide to current urban ecological thinking across the range of disciplines, such as geography, ecology, environmental science/studies, planning, urban studies, that converge in the study of towns and cities and urban design and living. It will also assist practitioners and civil society members in discovering the ways different specialists and thinkers approach urban nature.
The Routledge Handbook of Urban Ecology
Language: en
Pages: 1328
Authors: Ian Douglas, P M L Anderson, David Goode, Mike Houck, David Maddox, Harini Nagendra, Puay Yok Tan
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-11-20 - Publisher: Routledge

This second edition covers recent developments around the world with contributors from 33 different countries. It widens the handbook’s scope by including ecological design; consideration of cultural dimensions of the use and conservation of urban nature; the roles of government and civil society; and the continuing issues of equity and
Green Obsession
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Stefano Boeri Architetti
Categories: Architecture
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-12-09 - Publisher: Actar D, Inc.

Green Obsession traces the long path that architect Stefano Boeri and his studio - Stefano Boeri Architetti - have followed in the last fifteen years of practice, aiming at the redefinition of the relationship between city and nature. The book follows a discursive thread, alternating dialogues and scientific essays by
Urban Land Systems: An Ecosystems Perspective
Language: en
Pages: 201
Authors: Andrew Millington, Harini Nagendra, Monika Kopecká
Categories: Architecture
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-07-02 - Publisher: MDPI

This book is a printed edition of the Special Issue "Urban Land Systems: An Ecosystems Perspective" that was published in Land
Reforesting Landscapes
Language: en
Pages: 396
Authors: Harini Nagendra, Jane Southworth
Categories: Technology & Engineering
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-12-02 - Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

The 21st century has seen the beginnings of a great restoration effort towards the world’s forests, accompanied by the emergence of an increasing literature on reforestation, regeneration and regrowth of forest cover. Yet to date, there is no volume which synthesises current knowledge on the extent, trends, patterns and drivers
The Bangalore Detectives Club
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Harini Nagendra
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-04-28 - Publisher: Hachette UK

'A gorgeous debut mystery with a charming and fearless sleuth . . . spellbinding' SUJATA MASSEY 'Told with real warmth and wit. . . A perfect read for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Vaseem Khan' - ABIR MUKHERJEE 'A cosy mystery that warmly illuminates a time and place not