Is There Bacon in Heaven?

Is There Bacon in Heaven?

Author: Ali Hassan

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781982149178

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 240

View: 581

Download Now
For fans of Russell Peters, Trevor Noah, and Mark Critch​ comes a hilarious debut memoir about life growing up on the outside and finding one's place in the world, by stand-up comic and popular CBC host, Ali Hassan. Growing up, Ali Hassan was a chameleon. His friends came from many different backgrounds and religions--Trinidadian, Parsi, Goan, Hindu, Christian, Sikh. And as a hockey-playing, crockpot-using young man who also knew the words to at least ten Neil Young songs, he could blend in everywhere. But the world has a funny way of reminding you who you are, and his Muslim Pakistani family and community did, too. In this hilarious and insightful memoir based on his hit stand-up comedy, Hassan shares his life-long journey to becoming a cultural Muslim--learning to walk the line of embracing his heritage while still following his passions. From failing to learn Arabic--or much of anything, really--in Sunday school and visiting family in Pakistan (who mocked him constantly) to discovering the wonders of pepperoni as a teenager and being a celebrity judge at Ribfest, Hassan finds himself in compromising situations that challenge his beliefs and very identity. And along the way, his friends and family are there to either encourage or criticize, something he finds eternally confusing. Now, as a father of four, Hassan must explain his point of view to his children. But he can't just "give them" an identity as a cultural Muslim. Sharing his story is the next best thing. Entertaining and heartfelt, this debut showcases why Hassan is one of Canada's most popular comedians, as he explores that deep need that exists in us all: to belong.
Is There Bacon in Heaven?
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Ali Hassan
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-09-27 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

For fans of Russell Peters, Trevor Noah, and Mark Critch​ comes a hilarious debut memoir about life growing up on the outside and finding one's place in the world, by stand-up comic and popular CBC host, Ali Hassan. Growing up, Ali Hassan was a chameleon. His friends came from many
Is There Bacon in Heaven?
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Ali Hassan
Categories: Humor
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-09-27 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

For fans of Russell Peters, Trevor Noah, and Mark Critch comes a hilarious debut memoir about family, pursuing our passions, and figuring out who we are, by stand-up comedian and popular CBC host, Ali Hassan. Growing up, Ali Hassan was a chameleon. His friends came from many different backgrounds and
Krossisms
Language: en
Pages: 59
Authors: Ronald Krosswordz Hargrove
Categories: Humor
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Lulu.com

Books about Krossisms
Vital Issues in the Inerrancy Debate
Language: en
Pages: 582
Authors: F. David Farnell, Norman L. Geisler, Joseph M. Holden, William C. Roach, Phil Fernandes
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-01-14 - Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

The inerrancy of God's Word has been attacked throughout church history. Today's assaults are unique since neo-evangelicals now surrender to post-modernistic ideas of history and historical-critical ideologies that assault this vital doctrine. They seek to redefine the orthodox meaning of inerrancy. Since the signing of the Chicago Statements, troubling signs
Francis Bacon's Cryptic Rhymes and the Truth They Reveal
Language: en
Pages: 258
Authors: Edwin Bormann
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-28 - Publisher: Read Books Ltd

This fascinating 1906 treatise explores the seminal work of Francis Bacon with particular reference to cryptic rhymes and their possible connections to the occult. Francis Bacon (1561 – 1626) was an English statesman and philosopher who served as Lord Chancellor and Attorney General of England. His works are hailed as