Is There Bacon in Heaven?

Is There Bacon in Heaven?

Author: Ali Hassan

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781982149185

Category: Humor

Page: 256

View: 439

Download Now
For fans of Russell Peters, Trevor Noah, and Mark Critch​ comes a hilarious debut memoir about life growing up on the outside and finding one’s place in the world, by stand-up comic and popular CBC host, Ali Hassan. Growing up, Ali Hassan was a chameleon. His friends came from many different backgrounds and religions—Trinidadian, Parsi, Goan, Hindu, Christian, Sikh. And as a hockey-playing, crockpot-using young man who also knew the words to at least ten Neil Young songs, he could blend in everywhere. But the world has a funny way of reminding you who you are, and his Muslim Pakistani family and community did, too. In this hilarious and insightful memoir based on his hit stand-up comedy, Hassan shares his life-long journey to becoming a cultural Muslim—learning to walk the line of embracing his heritage while still following his passions. From failing to learn Arabic—or much of anything, really—in Sunday school and visiting family in Pakistan (who mocked him constantly) to discovering the wonders of pepperoni as a teenager and being a celebrity judge at Ribfest, Hassan finds himself in compromising situations that challenge his beliefs and very identity. And along the way, his friends and family are there to either encourage or criticize, something he finds eternally confusing. Now, as a father of four, Hassan must explain his point of view to his children. But he can’t just “give them” an identity as a cultural Muslim. Sharing his story is the next best thing. Entertaining and heartfelt, this debut showcases why Hassan is one of Canada’s most popular comedians, as he explores that deep need that exists in us all: to belong.
Is There Bacon in Heaven?
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Ali Hassan
Categories: Humor
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-09-27 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

For fans of Russell Peters, Trevor Noah, and Mark Critch​ comes a hilarious debut memoir about life growing up on the outside and finding one’s place in the world, by stand-up comic and popular CBC host, Ali Hassan. Growing up, Ali Hassan was a chameleon. His friends came from many
The Sky in Early Modern English Literature
Language: en
Pages: 111
Authors: David H. Levy
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-04-30 - Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

Astronomy is not just a subject unto itself. We all look at the sky, and it has always been a fertile source of guidance and inspiration in art, music, and literature. This book explores the sky’s appearances in music and art, but focuses most on the sky’s enormous presence in
Krossisms
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Ronald Krosswordz Hargrove
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Lulu.com

Books about Krossisms
The Galaxy
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Ronald Krosswordz Hargrove
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 1869 - Publisher:

Books about The Galaxy
Journal of the Bacon Society
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Ronald Krosswordz Hargrove
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 1891 - Publisher:

Books about Journal of the Bacon Society