Mango, Mambo, and Murder

Mango, Mambo, and Murder

Author: Raquel V. Reyes

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

ISBN: 9781643857855

Category: Fiction

Page: 314

View: 289

Download Now
Cuban-American cooking show star Miriam Quiñones-Smith becomes a seasoned sleuth in Raquel V. Reyes's Caribbean Kitchen Mystery debut, a savory treat for fans of Joanne Fluke and Jenn McKinlay. Food anthropologist Miriam Quiñones-Smith's move from New York to Coral Shores, Miami, puts her academic career on hold to stay at home with her young son. Adding to her funk is an opinionated mother-in-law and a husband rekindling a friendship with his ex. Gracias to her best friend, Alma, she gets a short-term job as a Caribbean cooking expert on a Spanish-language morning TV show. But when the newly minted star attends a Women's Club luncheon, a socialite sitting at her table suddenly falls face-first into the chicken salad, never to nibble again. When a second woman dies soon after, suspicions coalesce around a controversial Cuban herbalist, Dr. Fuentes--especially after the morning show's host collapses while interviewing him. Detective Pullman is not happy to find Miriam at every turn. After he catches her breaking into the doctor's apothecary, he enlists her help as eyes and ears to the places he can't access, namely the Spanish-speaking community and the tawny Coral Shores social scene. As the ingredients to the deadly scheme begin blending together, Miriam is on the verge of learning how and why the women died. But her snooping may turn out to be a recipe for her own murder.
Mango, Mambo, and Murder
Language: en
Pages: 314
Authors: Raquel V. Reyes
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-10-12 - Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Cuban-American cooking show star Miriam Quiñones-Smith becomes a seasoned sleuth in Raquel V. Reyes's Caribbean Kitchen Mystery debut, a savory treat for fans of Joanne Fluke and Jenn McKinlay. Food anthropologist Miriam Quiñones-Smith's move from New York to Coral Shores, Miami, puts her academic career on hold to stay at
Calypso, Corpses, and Cooking
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Raquel V. Reyes
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-10-11 - Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

It’s time for a savory soirée—but something sinister is stewing—in Raquel V. Reyes’s second delightful Caribbean Kitchen mystery, perfectly delicious for fans of Mia P. Manansala. Fall festivities are underway in Coral Shores, Miami. Cuban-American cooking show star Miriam Quiñones-Smith wakes up to find a corpse in her front yard.
The Wind Mists
Language: en
Pages: 275
Authors: Barbara E. Sharp
Categories: Families
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003 - Publisher:

Books about The Wind Mists
Sequels
Language: en
Pages: 782
Authors: Janet Husband, Jonathan F. Husband
Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009 - Publisher: American Library Association

A guide to series fiction lists popular series, identifies novels by character, and offers guidance on the order in which to read unnumbered series.
Bone Island Mambo
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Tom Corcoran
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-04-01 - Publisher: Minotaur Books

A pleasant Key West Sunday in January turns into a tropical nightmare. It's early. The tourists are still asleep. Freelance and part-time crime photographer Alex Rutledge bicycles near-vacant streets, taking pictures for his own enjoyment. But he's challenged at a restoration district construction site, accused by a developer of snapping