On the Street Where You Live

On the Street Where You Live

Author: Danda Humphreys

Publisher: Heritage House Publishing Co

ISBN: 1894384091

Category: History

Page: 192

View: 510

Download Now
In the mid-1800s, Victoria grew from a fur-trading post into a provincial capital—the jewel in British Columbia's golden crown. Meanwhile, many of the early residents, happy to leave the Hudson's Bay Company behind, followed simple trails from the fort or discovered new routes of their own. In her first book, Danda Humphreys introduced readers to some of the people who forged those pioneer pathways. Now she takes us another step back in time to the roads and railways that connected the original city's core to today's suburbs. From Saanich to Sooke, street names tell stories of intrigue and adventure: Rowland Avenue, named for the farm labourer with a sinister sideline: hangman for the HBC. Joan Crescent, where coal baron Robert Dunsmuir's widow once resided in solitary splendour in a castle called Craigdarroch. Sidney Avenue, close to where the Brethour brothers donated land for the northern terminus of the "Cordwood Express," first train to link the city with the Saanich Peninsula and the islands in the Strait of Georgia. In this second book in her On the Street Where You Live trilogy, Danda once again combines her passion for the past with a penchant for lively prose to bring you stories about Victoria's pioneers. You know the streets; now meet the people—their lives, their loves and the legends they left behind.
Miracle on Christmas Street
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Annie O'Neil
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-09-17 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Feel-good, funny and festive, this book is guaranteed to melt your heart this Christmas! Perfect for fans of Heidi Swain, Jo Thomas and Milly Johnson *** 'Heartwarming, funny and deliciously festive!' Debbie Johnson, author of Maybe One Day 'You'll simply fall in love with this scrumptious Christmas story' Sandy Barker,
Orchestral
Language: en
Pages: 476
Authors: Lucy Manning
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-10-10 - Publisher: Scarecrow Press

In this second edition of Orchestral “Pops” Music: A Handbook, Lucy Manning brings forward to the present her remarkable compendium of information about this form of orchestral music. Since the appearance of the first edition in 2008, this work has proven critical to successful “pops” concert programming. With changes in
Ext. New York City - Discover The Reel New York On Location
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Dallas King
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Lulu.com

Books about Ext. New York City - Discover The Reel New York On Location
Miracle on 34th Street
Language: en
Pages: 136
Authors: Valentine Davies
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-09-14 - Publisher: HMH Books For Young Readers

Generations of believers in hope and goodwill have made Miracle on 34th Street a treasured part of their holiday traditions. Now in keepsake hardcover.
Mainstream Maverick
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Holly Chard
Categories: Performing Arts
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-09-01 - Publisher: University of Texas Press

In the 1980s and 1990s, John Hughes was one of Hollywood's most reliable hitmakers, churning out beloved teen comedies and family films such as The Breakfast Club and Home Alone, respectively. But was he an artist? Hughes, an adamantly commercial filmmaker who was dismissed by critics, might have laughed at