Quiet Your Mind and Get to Sleep

Quiet Your Mind and Get to Sleep

Author: Colleen Carney

Publisher: New Harbinger Publications

ISBN: 9781572246270

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 169

View: 389

Download Now
Insomnia usually appears in the presence of at least one other disorder. Particularly common co-occurring conditions include major depression, generalized anxiety, attention deficit/hyperactivity in children, and chronic pain. In sleep clinics, insomnia patients with co-occurring psychological disorders outnumber those with only insomnia two-to-one (National Institutes of Health), yet there are no books currently available to help those with insomnia comorbid with another mental health condition. Quiet Your Mind and Get to Sleep offers solutions to this sizeable population in a practical, step-by-step manner that simulates the experience of visiting a sleep therapist. This program in this workbook is based on a proven-effective cognitive behavior therapy (CBT) treatment program created by coauthor Colleen Carney. Readers will learn new skills for dealing with insomnia and complete simple worksheets and assignments that will help them evaluate their insomnia as well as their comorbid condition. Chapters address insomnia and depression, insomnia and anxiety (including generalized anxiety disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, and other specific types of anxiety), and insomnia and chronic pain.
Quiet Your Mind and Get to Sleep
Language: en
Pages: 169
Authors: Colleen Carney, Rachel Manber
Categories: Health & Fitness
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009 - Publisher: New Harbinger Publications

Insomnia usually appears in the presence of at least one other disorder. Particularly common co-occurring conditions include major depression, generalized anxiety, attention deficit/hyperactivity in children, and chronic pain. In sleep clinics, insomnia patients with co-occurring psychological disorders outnumber those with only insomnia two-to-one (National Institutes of Health), yet there are
You Are Getting Sleepy
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Paul Glovinsky, Arthur Spielman
Categories: Health & Fitness
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-07-18 - Publisher: Diversion Publishing Corp.

For readers of Arianna Huffington's The Sleep Revolution—an individualized approach to sleep issues from the expert doctors who wrote The Insomnia Answer. Good sleep is an elusive goal: the harder you try to fall asleep, the less likely you are to be successful. Insomnia is stoked by different habits, schedules,
Aches and Gains
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Paul Christo
Categories: Health & Fitness
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-09-05 - Publisher: Bull Publishing

Pain is often treatable but doctors, medical professionals, and patients don't understand the intricacies of chronic pain. Millions who suffer from pain become hopeless. With Aches and Gains, Dr. Paul Christo, a Johns Hopkins physician and leading pain specialist sheds new light on what it means to live with and
Mindfulness for Insomnia
Language: en
Pages: 200
Authors: Catherine Polan Orzech, William H. Moorcroft
Categories: Health & Fitness
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-07-01 - Publisher: New Harbinger Publications

Break the cycle of anxious thinking and rumination that keeps you up at night. With this much-needed guide, you’ll learn to quiet your mind, relax your body, feel less tense, and finally get the sleep you need. Sleep plays a crucial role in our waking lives. While we sleep, our
The Mindfulness Workbook for Addiction
Language: en
Pages: 232
Authors: Rebecca E. Williams, Julie S. Kraft
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-08-01 - Publisher: New Harbinger Publications

Most addictive behavior is rooted in some type of loss, be it the death of a loved one, coming to terms with limitations set by chronic health problems, or the end of a relationship. By turning to drugs and alcohol, people who have suffered a loss can numb their grief.