Russia and Iran in the Great Game

Russia and Iran in the Great Game

Author: Elena Andreeva

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 9781135983024

Category: History

Page: 288

View: 130

Download Now
This book examines the Russian explorers and officials in the nineteenth and early twentieth century who came into contact with Iran as a part of the Great Game. It demonstrates the development of Russia's own form of Orientalism, a phenomenon that has previously been thought to be exclusive to the West.
Russia and Iran in the Great Game
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Elena Andreeva
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-06-11 - Publisher: Routledge

This book examines the Russian explorers and officials in the nineteenth and early twentieth century who came into contact with Iran as a part of the Great Game. It demonstrates the development of Russia's own form of Orientalism, a phenomenon that has previously been thought to be exclusive to the
Russia and Iran in the Great Game
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Elena Andreeva
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-06-11 - Publisher: Routledge

This book examines the Russian explorers and officials in the nineteenth and early twentieth century who came into contact with Iran as a part of the Great Game. It demonstrates the development of Russia's own form of Orientalism, a phenomenon that has previously been thought to be exclusive to the
Immortal, Updated Edition
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Steven R. Ward
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-01-08 - Publisher: Georgetown University Press

Immortal, now in an updated paperback edition, is the only single-volume English-language survey of Iran’s military history. CIA analyst Steven R. Ward shows that Iran’s soldiers, from the famed “Immortals” of ancient Persia to today’s Revolutionary Guard, have demonstrated through the centuries that they should not be underestimated. This history
Persia in the Great Game
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Antony Wynn
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004-01-05 - Publisher: John Murray Pubs Limited

Caught between Russia and British India. Persia was a powerless pawn in the Great Game. Sykes, a bluff, tough soldier-scholar, was sent by Army Intelligence to explore its wild, unknown eastern border country and to set up a network of informants to keep an eye on Russian moves. He bugged
The New Great Game
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Lutz Kleveman
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-12-01 - Publisher: Open Road + Grove/Atlantic

In the tradition of The Prize, Lutz Kleveman gives us the twenty-first-century chapter on the history, passion, and politics of oil and gas resources, and the struggle to control them in a critical part of the world. Using the concept of the "Great Game" that Rudyard Kipling immortalized in his