Singled Out

Singled Out

Author: Andrew Maraniss

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780593116739

Category: Young Adult Nonfiction

Page: 320

View: 598

Download Now
*"[An] excellent exercise in narrative nonfiction." --Booklist (starred review) From New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss comes the remarkable true story of Glenn Burke, a "hidden figure" in the history of sports: the inventor of the high five and the first openly gay MLB player. Perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown. On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los Angeles Dodgers, made history without even swinging a bat. When his teammate Dusty Baker hit a historic home run, Glenn enthusiastically congratulated him with the first ever high five. But Glenn also made history in another way--he was the first openly gay MLB player. While he did not come out publicly until after his playing days were over, Glenn's sexuality was known to his teammates, family, and friends. His MLB career would be cut short after only three years, but his legacy and impact on the athletic and LGBTQIA+ community would resonate for years to come. New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss tells the story of Glenn Burke: from his childhood growing up in Oakland, his journey to the MLB and the World Series, the joy in discovering who he really was, to more difficult times: facing injury, addiction, and the AIDS epidemic. Packed with black-and-white photographs and thoroughly researched, never-before-seen details about Glenn's life, Singled Out is the fascinating story of a trailblazer in sports--and the history and culture that shaped the world around him. Praise for Singled Out: "A compelling narrative . . . This is a meticulously researched history of the ways queer culture in the ’70s intersected with baseball, Blackness, and larger culture wars, with one man at their center." --Kirkus Reviews
Singled Out
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Andrew Maraniss
Categories: Young Adult Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-02 - Publisher: Penguin

*"[An] excellent exercise in narrative nonfiction." --Booklist (starred review) From New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss comes the remarkable true story of Glenn Burke, a "hidden figure" in the history of sports: the inventor of the high five and the first openly gay MLB player. Perfect for fans of
Singled Out
Language: en
Pages: 76
Authors: Andrew Maraniss
Categories: Detention of persons
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007 - Publisher: Human Rights Watch

Recommendations -- To the Russian government -- To the United Nations -- To the Council of Europe -- To the European Union and the United States government. -- Methodology. -- Russia's international obligations -- Arbitrary or unlawful detentions -- Arbitrary or unlawful expulsions. -- Background -- Relations between Russia and
Singled Out
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Christine Colón, Bonnie Field
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-06-01 - Publisher: Brazos Press

Authors Christine Colón and Bonnie Field thought that by a certain age they would each be married. But they watched that age come and go--and still no walks down the aisle. In Singled Out, they reflect on their experience--and that of an increasing number of Christians. Rejecting overly simplistic messages
Singled Out
Language: en
Pages: 372
Authors: Rebecca Lynne
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-03-01 - Publisher: AuthorHouse

Rain Drops From Heaven is a book that will inspire and motivate you to a higher realm of acknowledging God's presences in your life. It is book of poetry that looks at the many things we take for granted and see God working in them. Why buy this book? -
Singled Out
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Bella DePaulo, Ph.D.
Categories: Family & Relationships
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-10-30 - Publisher: St. Martin's Press

People who are single are changing the face of America. Did you know that: * More than 40 percent of the nation's adults---over 87 million people---are divorced, widowed, or have always been single. * There are more households comprised of single people living alone than of married parents and their