I Can't Date Jesus

I Can't Date Jesus

Author: Michael Arceneaux

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781501178863

Category: Humor

Page: 256

View: 453

Download Now
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Featured as One of Summer’s most anticipated reads by the Los Angeles Times, Vogue, Vulture, Entertainment Weekly, ELLE, Buzzfeed, and Bitch Media. From the author of I Don’t Want to Die Poor and in the style of New York Times bestsellers You Can’t Touch My Hair, Bad Feminist, and I'm Judging You, a timely collection of alternately hysterical and soul‑searching essays about what it is like to grow up as a creative, sensitive black man in a world that constantly tries to deride and diminish your humanity. It hasn’t been easy being Michael Arceneaux. Equality for LGBTQ people has come a long way and all, but voices of persons of color within the community are still often silenced, and being Black in America is…well, have you watched the news? With the characteristic wit and candor that have made him one of today’s boldest writers on social issues, I Can’t Date Jesus is Michael Arceneaux’s impassioned, forthright, and refreshing look at minority life in today’s America. Leaving no bigoted or ignorant stone unturned, he describes his journey in learning to embrace his identity when the world told him to do the opposite. He eloquently writes about coming out to his mother; growing up in Houston, Texas; being approached for the priesthood; his obstacles in embracing intimacy that occasionally led to unfortunate fights with fire ants and maybe fleas; and the persistent challenges of young people who feel marginalized and denied the chance to pursue their dreams. Perfect for fans of David Sedaris, Samantha Irby, and Phoebe Robinson, I Can’t Date Jesus tells us—without apologies—what it’s like to be outspoken and brave in a divisive world.
Cycled
Language: en
Pages: 300
Authors: Elise Faber
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-10-26 - Publisher: Elise Faber

No matter how hard Scarlett tried to be good— She always ended up being bad. But everything was different now. She was working as a publicist for the San Francisco Gold. Her life was back on track. Then she met Kaydon. She worked for his team, and she couldn’t risk
Hit
Language: en
Pages: 750
Authors: Elise Faber
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-05-18 - Publisher: Elise Faber

Cycled No matter how hard Scarlett tried to be good— She always ended up being bad. But everything was different now. She was working as a publicist for the San Francisco Gold. Her life was back on track. Then she met Kaydon. She worked for his team, and she couldn’t
Secret Agent Disco Dancer: Taco Tuesday
Language: en
Pages: 90
Authors: Scott Gordon
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-04-21 - Publisher: Scott Gordon

DEVLIN BLUM always knew he was going to hell, just not taco hell. But how can this be? He's college educated; a man of many talents. A few, short months ago he was on top of the world. And now? Reduced to begging for a job to sling together Spicy
Thunder Boys Book I: Paco the Great
Language: en
Pages: 410
Authors: Adam Apellasios
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-05 - Publisher: Lulu.com

Paco's wrestling teammate, Chad, missed so much school for the sexual abuse trial. Parents don't want their kids hanging around him because he acts out, but Paco's parents don't object when their son picks Chad as a friend. Paco feels horses gallop through his chest when they're together, and their
Charlie 1st to Find
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Tanya Atkinson
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-10-01 - Publisher: Tanya Atkinson

Charlie, the Great Dane, wants to help his family find the missing tablet. But how can he do that? He's too big and Paws, the family cat, dislikes anything associated with him, including the quails. Sara's misplaced her tablet, and even though she's looked all over the house, it's vanished.