Taking Up Space

Taking Up Space

Author: Chelsea Kwakye

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781529119039

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 501

Download Now
'Brilliant' CANDICE CARTY-WILLIAMS, author of QUEENIE 'Essential' BERNARDINE EVARISTO, author of GIRL, WOMAN, OTHER 'Hugely important' PAULA AKPAN ____________________________ As a minority in a predominantly white institution, taking up space is an act of resistance. Recent Cambridge grads Chelsea and Ore experienced this first-hand, and wrote Taking Up Space as a guide and a manifesto for change. FOR BLACK GIRLS: Understand that your journey is unique. Use this book as a guide. Our wish for you is that you read this and feel empowered, comforted and validated in every emotion you experience, or decision that you make. FOR EVERYONE ELSE: We can only hope that reading this helps you to be a better friend, parent, sibling or teacher to black girls living through what we did. It's time we stepped away from seeing this as a problem that black people are charged with solving on their own. It's a collective effort. And everyone has a role to play. Featuring honest conversations with students past and present, Taking Up Space goes beyond the buzzwords of diversity and inclusion and explores what those words truly mean for young black girls today. ____________________________ #Merky Books was set up by publishers Penguin Random House and Stormzy in June 2018 to find and publish the best writers of a new generation and to publish the stories that are not being heard. #Merky Books aims to open up the world of publishing, and this year has launched a New Writer's Prize and will soon be launching a #Merky Books traineeship. 'I know too many talented writers that don't always have an outlet or a means to get their work seen, and hopefully #Merky Books can now be a reference point for them to say "I can be an author", and for that to be a realistic and achievable goal... Reading and writing as a kid were integral to where I am today and I, from the bottom of my heart, cannot wait to hear your stories and get them out into the big wide world.' STORMZY
Taking Up Space
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Chelsea Kwakye, Ore Ogunbiyi
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-06-27 - Publisher: Random House

'Brilliant' CANDICE CARTY-WILLIAMS, author of QUEENIE 'Essential' BERNARDINE EVARISTO, author of GIRL, WOMAN, OTHER 'Hugely important' PAULA AKPAN ____________________________ As a minority in a predominantly white institution, taking up space is an act of resistance. Recent Cambridge grads Chelsea and Ore experienced this first-hand, and wrote Taking Up Space as
Taking Up Space
Language: en
Pages: 388
Authors: Pattie Thomas, Ph.D.
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2005-10-01 - Publisher: Pearlsong Press

Taking Up Space is a sociological memoir about being fat and the physical, emotional and economic costs of trying to pass for thin in a culture that stigmatizes fat people. Making her own life a case study, medical sociologist Pattie Thomas, Ph.D., with the help of her co-author and husband
Taking Up Space
Language: en
Pages: 364
Authors: Siham Bouamer
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-10-15 - Publisher: University of Wales Press

Books about Taking Up Space
Taking Up Space
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: Alyson Gerber
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-18 - Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

From beloved author Alyson Gerber comes another realistic contemporary novel perfect for fans of Judy Blume. Sarah loves basketball more than anything. Crushing it on the court makes her feel like she matters. And it's the only thing that helps her ignore how much it hurts when her mom forgets
Taking Up Space: A Guide to Escaping the Diet Maze
Language: en
Pages: 30
Authors: Alyson Gerber
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Go Kaleo

Books about Taking Up Space: A Guide to Escaping the Diet Maze