The Chestnut Tree

The Chestnut Tree

Author: Charlotte Bingham

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781409057338

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 525

Download Now
A compelling and touching evocation of the wartime spirit by the million copy and Sunday Times bestselling author Charlotte Bingham, for fans of Louise Douglas and Dinah Jeffries. 'A perfect escapist cocktail for summertime romantics' - MAIL ON SUNDAY 'As compelling as ever' - WOMAN & HOME 'A holiday read that will keep you glued to your sun lounger' - SAFEWAY MAGAZINE 'The author perfectly evokes the atmosphere of a bygone era' - WOMAN'S OWN 'A compulsive read with the attitudes, mores and conditions of the 1940s accurately portrayed' - THE HISTORICAL NOVELS REVIEW 'I can't tear myself away from this trilogy'-- ***** Reader review ************************************************************************** WAR LOOMS, BUT WHAT WILL BE THEIR GREATEST SACRIFICE? It is the summer of 1939, and like the rest of Europe, the residents of the little idyllic Sussex fishing port of Bexham are preparing for war. The women of Bexham are all in their very individual ways determined to play an active part in the defence of their country. In this manner the little Sussex village, facing as it does the coastline of Nazi-invaded France, finds its closely sewn social fabric gradually unstitch, inch by little inch as traditional roles are radically changed. None of them are the same, and yet, with the men returning from war, they are expected to slip back into their simple roles of mother, daughter, grandmother. This, more than anything perhaps, is their greatest sacrifice. Having been freed by war, they have now to relinquish that very independence that gave them the liberty for which they once fought. Only the chestnut tree planted by Corrie at the edge of the village flourishes in the accepted manner, finally becoming the uniting symbol of all that has passed forever...
The Chestnut Tree
Language: en
Pages: 464
Authors: Charlotte Bingham
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-12-15 - Publisher: Random House

A compelling and touching evocation of the wartime spirit by the million copy and Sunday Times bestselling author Charlotte Bingham, for fans of Louise Douglas and Dinah Jeffries. 'A perfect escapist cocktail for summertime romantics' - MAIL ON SUNDAY 'As compelling as ever' - WOMAN & HOME 'A holiday read
The Chestnut Tree (A Short Story)
Language: en
Pages: 100
Authors: Jo Thomas
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-10-09 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Treat yourself to this wonderfully funny and romantic short story by Jo Thomas, kindle bestselling author of The Oyster Catcher, The Olive Branch and Honey Farm on the Hill, available exclusively in ebook. Praise for Jo Thomas' The Olive Branch: 'Sun, good food and romance, what more could you want?'
Letters from the Chestnut Tree Cafe
Language: en
Pages: 271
Authors: Tom Winnifrith
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-12-10 - Publisher: Harriman House Limited

Of course if you are highly opinionated (which Tom is) not everyone loves you. His writings have exposed, lampooned, offended and ridiculed a fair few folk. But no-one is forced to read what he writes. The blog on which this ebook is based is not a democracy but very much
Give My Love to the Chestnut Trees
Language: en
Pages: 228
Authors: Beverly Varnado
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-09-20 - Publisher: WestBow Press

When an accident causes the loss of a treasured vintage pen, Mary Helen Reynolds relives the summer of 1988 ... Fourteen-year-old Mary Helen wants life to stay the same—small, safe, and protected—but her world starts to unravel when cancer strikes her mother. Mary Helen is sent from her home in
The Control of the Chestnut Bark Disease
Language: en
Pages: 26
Authors: Haven Metcalf, James Franklin Collins
Categories: Castanea
Type: BOOK - Published: 1911 - Publisher:

Books about The Control of the Chestnut Bark Disease