The Complete BY THE SEA Series Boxed Set

The Complete BY THE SEA Series Boxed Set

Author: Antoinette Stockenberg

Publisher: Antoinette Stockenberg

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 800

View: 791

Download Now
In the tradition of Upstairs, Downstairs and Downton Abbey, BY THE SEA is a four-book series that sweeps from the Gilded Age through the Gatsby Era's Roaring Twenties and then on to the Great Depression, culminating nearly a century later in Newport, Rhode Island, wealthy and alluring "City by the Sea." Set against a backdrop of mansions, the glorious America's Cup Yacht Races, and new money, the series traces the passions and adventures of three families from three different classes. Book One: TESS. From the wild decadence of late nineteenth-century Newport comes the tale of Tess Moran, a beautiful Irish housemaid in one of the grand summer "cottages," who makes a dark bargain with a man of commanding wealth -- and falls in love in the bargain. Book Two: AMANDA. Marrying American money to an English title is a tradition of its own; but Amanda Fain, a brash heiress with money to burn, has a fondness for Bolsheviks and bootleg liquor that makes her an unlikely match for the reluctant, ironic, and impoverished English aristocrat Geoffrey Seton, who has been ordered to America to find someone who can pay the bills for the family estate back home. Book Three: LAURA. While the Great Depression grinds relentlessly on, Laura Andersson, a Midwestern farm girl with an improbable love of the sea, embarks on a bold adventure that promises riches but delivers passion, one that threatens all she holds dear. Book Four: THE HEIRS is the dramatic conclusion to the four-book series BY THE SEA. Economic hard times are a distant memory in high-flying, recent-day Newport, home of the oldest and most prestigious trophy in the world, the Holy Grail of sport--the America's Cup. Here, the descendants of Tess, Amanda and Laura play out their destinies, their paths crossing in unforeseen ways: Mavis Moran, Neil Powers, his daughter Quinta, and America's Cup skipper Alan Seton all find themselves caught in a web of mystery, sabotage, and conflicting desires. Reviews "A quality novel [that] contains many of those little epiphanies, those moments of recognition. [Part 1, TESS,] is what makes Stockenberg's book stand out from the rash of novels on class conflicts between Irish servants and their Yankee masters." --Providence Journal "A riveting saga/mystery. Ms. Stockenberg is a master of intrigue and romance ... she expertly leads readers through nearly a century of drama in the elegant, fascinating, and thrilling world of yacht racing [culminating in] a compelling mystery. This novel will provide smooth sailing for summer reading." —Rave Reviews
The Complete BY THE SEA Series Boxed Set
Language: en
Pages: 800
Authors: Antoinette Stockenberg
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-10-22 - Publisher: Antoinette Stockenberg

In the tradition of Upstairs, Downstairs and Downton Abbey, BY THE SEA is a four-book series that sweeps from the Gilded Age through the Gatsby Era's Roaring Twenties and then on to the Great Depression, culminating nearly a century later in Newport, Rhode Island, wealthy and alluring "City by the
SISTERS: A Boxed Set
Language: en
Pages: 1200
Authors: Antoinette Stockenberg
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-12-07 - Publisher: Antoinette Stockenberg

Books about SISTERS: A Boxed Set
Waterspell: The Complete Series (Boxed Set: Books 1-4)
Language: en
Pages: 1180
Authors: Deborah J. Lightfoot
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-04-21 - Publisher: Seven Rivers Publishing

WATERSPELL: The Complete Series Making a place for yourself in a world where you don’t belong takes courage. So does moving in with a warlock. Especially one who is a cauldron of seething anger on his worst days … half mad on his best … who is thinking, perhaps, of
A Christmas Picture Book: Season Eight
Language: en
Pages: 45
Authors: Antoinette Stockenberg
Categories: Antiques & Collectibles
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-10-02 - Publisher: Antoinette Stockenberg

Somehow, the need to be kind and generous and tolerant seems more urgent than ever, and that need was very much on my mind as I arranged my Christmas mantel village and imagined the story that would accompany it. When I was finished, I had to ask myself: is this
A Christmas Picture Book: Season Seven
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Antoinette Stockenberg
Categories: Antiques & Collectibles
Type: BOOK - Published: 101-01-01 - Publisher: Antoinette Stockenberg

My latest mantel village and its accompanying story celebrate their seventh anniversary this year, and no one is more surprised by that than I am. I hadn't intended to write so many chapters for so many years -- but it turns out that after arranging my little tin figures around