The Green Road Into The Trees

The Green Road Into The Trees

Author: Hugh Thomson

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781409051909

Category: Travel

Page: 320

View: 502

Download Now
WINNER OF THE 2014 THWAITES WAINWRIGHT PRIZE In the past, Hugh Thomson has written acclaimed books about Peru, Mexico and the Indian Himalaya. Now he returns to the most exotic and foreign country of them all – his own. Walking right across England, along ancient trackways and green grass roads, Hugh explores the way the country was and the way it is today: the legends, literature and natural world that define us, and the undercurrent of regret running throughout our history; what he calls ‘the unicorn disappearing into the trees’. From coast-to-coast and through the heart of the countryside, he shows how older,forgotten cultures like the Celts, Saxons and Vikings lie much closer to the surface than we may think. It is a journey enriched and partly told by the characters he meets along the way. By taking it, Hugh casts unexpected light – and humour – on the way we live now.
The Green Road Into The Trees
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Hugh Thomson
Categories: Travel
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-06-07 - Publisher: Random House

WINNER OF THE 2014 THWAITES WAINWRIGHT PRIZE In the past, Hugh Thomson has written acclaimed books about Peru, Mexico and the Indian Himalaya. Now he returns to the most exotic and foreign country of them all – his own. Walking right across England, along ancient trackways and green grass roads,
One Man and a Mule
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Hugh Thomson
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-06-22 - Publisher: Random House

In the Middle Ages, mules were used to transport goods across Britain. Strong, sturdy and able to carry a good 160lbs of weight, they made ideal walking companions – as long as you didn’t ask them to do anything they didn’t want to do! So when Hugh Thomson decides he
The Quiver
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Hugh Thomson
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 1891 - Publisher:

V. 12 contains: The Archer...Christmas, 1877.
Ring of Lies
Language: en
Pages: 480
Authors: Roni Dunevich
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-08-16 - Publisher: HarperCollins

Internationally bestselling crime writer, Roni Dunevich, debuts Stateside with this electrifying espionage thriller—perfect for fans of Daniel Silva—about Alex Bartal, director of the Mossad’s Operations Branch, who is threatened by dark horrors of the past that refuse to stay buried. One of Bartal’s agents is on a mission to kidnap
The New Dominion Monthly
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Roni Dunevich
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1868 - Publisher:

Books about The New Dominion Monthly