The Hemlock Cure

The Hemlock Cure

Author: Joanne Burn

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780751581911

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 227

Download Now
Perfect for readers of Hamnet and The Manningtree Witches 'Vivid and poetic' JENNIFER SAINT 'Exquisitely written' SONIA VELTON 'Page-turning' SUSAN STOKES-CHAPMAN 'Fascinating' LIZ HYDER 'Heart-wrenching' REBECCA F. JOHN 'Wholly original' SARAH BURTON 'Exquisite' EMMA CARROLL 'Bewitching' ROZ WATKINS 'Beautiful' ANNIE GARTHWAITE 'Spellbinding' NIKKI MARMERY 'Mesmerizing' ROSIE ANDREWS It is 1665 and the women of Eyam keep many secrets. Isabel Frith, the village midwife, walks a dangerous line with her herbs and remedies. There are men in the village who speak of witchcraft, and Isabel has a past to hide. So she tells nobody her fears about Wulfric, the pious, reclusive apothecary. Mae, Wulfric's youngest daughter, dreads her father's rage if he discovers what she keeps from him. Like her feelings for Rafe, Isabel's ward, or that she studies from Wulfric's forbidden books at night. But others have secrets too. Secrets darker than any of them could have imagined. When Mae makes a horrifying discovery, Isabel is the only person she can turn to. But helping Mae will place them both in unspeakable peril. And meanwhile another danger is on its way from London. One that threatens to engulf them all . . . Based on the real history of an English village during the Great Plague, The Hemlock Cure is an utterly beguiling tale of fear and ambition, betrayal, self-sacrifice and the unbreakable bond between two women.
The Hemlock Cure
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Joanne Burn
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-02-10 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Perfect for readers of Hamnet and The Manningtree Witches 'Vivid and poetic' JENNIFER SAINT 'Exquisitely written' SONIA VELTON 'Page-turning' SUSAN STOKES-CHAPMAN 'Fascinating' LIZ HYDER 'Heart-wrenching' REBECCA F. JOHN 'Wholly original' SARAH BURTON 'Exquisite' EMMA CARROLL 'Bewitching' ROZ WATKINS 'Beautiful' ANNIE GARTHWAITE 'Spellbinding' NIKKI MARMERY 'Mesmerizing' ROSIE ANDREWS It is 1665
The Hemlock Cure
Language: en
Pages: 0
Authors: JOANNE. BURN
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2023-03-23 - Publisher: Sphere

Books about The Hemlock Cure
The London Magazine, Or, Gentleman's Monthly Intelligencer
Language: en
Pages: 774
Authors: JOANNE. BURN
Categories: English essays
Type: BOOK - Published: 1761 - Publisher:

Books about The London Magazine, Or, Gentleman's Monthly Intelligencer
Pandora
Language: en
Pages: 363
Authors: Susan Stokes-Chapman
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-01-27 - Publisher: Random House

**THE #1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER FROM THE NEW VOICE IN HISTORICAL FICTION** A pure pleasure of a novel set in Georgian London, where the discovery of a mysterious ancient Greek vase sets in motion conspiracies, revelations and romance. 'Weaves together Ancient Greek myth with suspenseful mystery and beguiling romance...utterly irresistible'
The Master-Christian
Language: en
Pages: 583
Authors: Marie Corelli
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-08-10 - Publisher: DigiCat

The Master-Christian is a novel by Marie Corelli. Corelli was an English novelist of the Victorian and Edwardian eras known as a "forefather" of new-age writing. Excerpt: "Lovely to a poet or an artist's eye is the unevenly-built and picturesque square of Rouen in which the Cathedral stands,—lovely, and suggestive