The Last Grand Duchess

The Last Grand Duchess

Author: Bryn Turnbull

Publisher: MIRA

ISBN: 9780369706539

Category: Fiction

Page: 417

View: 239

Download Now
“Powerful and haunting . . . an intimate and unforgettable tale that transports the reader to the heart of Imperial Russia.” —Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author of The Most Beautiful Girl in Cuba This sweeping novel takes readers behind palace walls to see the end of Imperial Russia through the eyes of Olga Nikolaevna Romanov, the first daughter of the last tsar Grand Duchess Olga Romanov comes of age amid a shifting tide for the great dynasties of Europe. But even as unrest simmers in the capital, Olga is content to live within the confines of the sheltered life her parents have built for her and her three sisters: hiding from the world on account of their mother’s ill health, their brother Alexei’s secret affliction, and rising controversy over Father Grigori Rasputin, the priest on whom the tsarina has come to rely. Olga’s only escape from the seclusion of Alexander Palace comes from the grand tea parties her aunt hosts amid the shadow court of Saint Petersburg—a world of opulent ballrooms, scandalous flirtation, and whispered conversation. But as war approaches, the palaces of Russia are transformed. Olga and her sisters trade their gowns for nursing habits, assisting in surgeries and tending to the wounded bodies and minds of Russia’s military officers. As troubling rumors about her parents trickle in from the front, Olga dares to hope that a budding romance might survive whatever the future may hold. But when tensions run high and supplies run low, the controversy over Rasputin grows into fiery protest, and calls for revolution threaten to end three hundred years of Romanov rule. At turns glittering and harrowing, The Last Grand Duchess is a story about dynasty, duty, and love, but above all, it’s the story of a family who would choose devotion to each other over everything—including their lives. Looking for more historical fiction from Bryn Turnbull? Don't miss The Woman Before Wallis. For fans of The Paris Wife and The Crown, this stunning novel tells the true story of the American divorcée who captured Prince Edward’s heart before he abdicated his throne for Wallis Simpson.
The Last Grand Duchess
Language: en
Pages: 417
Authors: Bryn Turnbull
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-02-08 - Publisher: MIRA

“Powerful and haunting . . . an intimate and unforgettable tale that transports the reader to the heart of Imperial Russia.” —Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author of The Most Beautiful Girl in Cuba This sweeping novel takes readers behind palace walls to see the end of Imperial Russia
Anastasia: The Last Grand Duchess, Russia, 1914
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Carolyn Meyer
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-10-29 - Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

Award-winning author Carolyn Meyer's ANASTASIA is back in print with a gorgeous new package! Thirteen-year-old Anastasia is the youngest daughter of Czar Nicholas II, ruler of Russia. Anastasia is used to a life of luxury; her major concerns are how to get out of her detested schoolwork to play in
Anastasia Romanov: The Last Grand Duchess #10
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Ann Hood
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-10-30 - Publisher: Penguin

Ann Hood’s historical fantasy series comes to a thrilling end with a trip to early 20th century Russia! In the final book of the Treasure Chest, Maisie and Felix find themselves in Russia with the Romanov family. This epic series is full of time travel and mystery that piques readers’
Olga Romanov
Language: en
Pages: 306
Authors: Patricia Phenix
Categories: Russia
Type: BOOK - Published: 1999 - Publisher: Viking Press

Books about Olga Romanov
The Last Grand Duchess
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Bryn Turnbull
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-02-08 - Publisher: MIRA

"Powerful and haunting . . . an intimate and unforgettable tale that transports the reader to the heart of Imperial Russia." --Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author of The Most Beautiful Girl in Cuba This sweeping novel takes readers behind palace walls to see the end of Imperial Russia