The Light in Hidden Places

The Light in Hidden Places

Author: Sharon Cameron

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

ISBN: 9781338355956

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 400

View: 459

Download Now
The extraordinary story of Stefania Podgórska, a Polish teenager who chose bravery and humanity by hiding thirteen Jews in her attic during WWII, from #1 New York Times bestselling author Sharon Cameron - now a Reese's Book Club YA Pick! One knock at the door, and Stefania has a choice to make... It is 1943, and for four years, sixteen-year-old Stefania has been working for the Diamant family in their grocery store in Przemysl, Poland, singing her way into their lives and hearts. She has even made a promise to one of their sons, Izio -- a betrothal they must keep secret since she is Catholic and the Diamants are Jewish. But everything changes when the German army invades Przemysl. The Diamants are forced into the ghetto, and Stefania is alone in an occupied city, the only one left to care for Helena, her six-year-old sister. And then comes the knock at the door. Izio's brother Max has jumped from the train headed to a death camp. Stefania and Helena make the extraordinary decision to hide Max, and eventually twelve more Jews. Then they must wait, every day, for the next knock at the door, the one that will mean death. When the knock finally comes, it is two Nazi officers, requisitioning Stefania's house for the German army. With two Nazis below, thirteen hidden Jews above, and a little sister by her side, Stefania has one more excruciating choice to make. This remarkable tale of courage and humanity, based on a true story, is now a Reese's Book Club YA Pick!
The Light in Hidden Places
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Sharon Cameron
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-03-03 - Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

The extraordinary story of Stefania Podgórska, a Polish teenager who chose bravery and humanity by hiding thirteen Jews in her attic during WWII, from #1 New York Times bestselling author Sharon Cameron - now a Reese's Book Club YA Pick! One knock at the door, and Stefania has a choice
Bluebird
Language: en
Pages: 464
Authors: Sharon Cameron
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-10-05 - Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

Author of Reese's Book Club YA Pick The Light in Hidden Places, Sharon Cameron, delivers an emotionally gripping and utterly immersive thriller, perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys's Salt to the Sea. In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for the streets of New York City, stepping from
The Poison Song (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy 3)
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Jen Williams
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-05-16 - Publisher: Hachette UK

From two time British Fantasy Award-winning author, Jen Williams, comes the epic conclusion to the Winnowing Flame trilogy. Exhilarating fantasy for fans of Robin Hobb. 'One of the best fantasy novels of the year, if not the decade' James Oswald 'A fitting finale, triumphant and bittersweet in all the best
Truth reignes Conquerour, or, the light of hidden secrets revealed. Shewing how all men erre from the waies of God. ... Being a vindication of the truth against Popery, Heresie, or Schisme, etc
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: William KNOWLES
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1662 - Publisher:

Books about Truth reignes Conquerour, or, the light of hidden secrets revealed. Shewing how all men erre from the waies of God. ... Being a vindication of the truth against Popery, Heresie, or Schisme, etc
Young Adult and Canonical Literature
Language: en
Pages: 180
Authors: Paula Greathouse, Victor Malo-Juvera
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-15 - Publisher:

The purpose of this collection is to offer secondary teachers engaging ideas and approaches for pairing young adult and canonical novels to provide unique examinations of topics that teaching either text in isolation could not afford.