The New York Trilogy

The New York Trilogy

Author: Paul Auster

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 9780571246120

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 336

Download Now
The New York Trilogy is perhaps the most astonishing work by one of America's most consistently astonishing writers. The Trilogy is three cleverly interconnected novels that exploit the elements of standard detective fiction and achieve a new genre that is all the more gripping for its starkness. It is a riveting work of detective fiction worthy of Raymond Chandler, and at the same time a profound and unsettling existentialist enquiry in the tradition of Kafka or Borges. In each story the search for clues leads to remarkable coincidences in the universe as the simple act of trailing a man ultimately becomes a startling investigation of what it means to be human. The New York Trilogy is the modern novel at its finest: a truly bold and arresting work of fiction with something to transfix and astound every reader. 'Marks a new departure for the American novel.' Observer 'A shatteringly clever piece of work . . . Utterly gripping, written with an acid sharpness that leaves an indelible dent in the back of the mind.' Sunday Telegraph 'The New York Trilogy established him as the only author one could compare to Samuel Beckett.' Guardian
The New York Trilogy
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Paul Auster
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-09-04 - Publisher: Faber & Faber

The New York Trilogy is perhaps the most astonishing work by one of America's most consistently astonishing writers. The Trilogy is three cleverly interconnected novels that exploit the elements of standard detective fiction and achieve a new genre that is all the more gripping for its starkness. It is a
Paul Auster's
Language: en
Pages: 164
Authors: Matthias Kugler
Categories: Literary Collections
Type: BOOK - Published: 1999-10-28 - Publisher: diplom.de

Inhaltsangabe:Abstract: Paul Auster's New York Trilogy, published in one volume for the first time in England in 1988 and in the U.S. in 1990 has been widely categorised as detective fiction among literary scholars and critics. There is, however, a striking diversity and lack of consensus regarding the classification of
The New York Trilogy
Language: en
Pages: 122
Authors: Anne M. Holzapfel
Categories: City and town life in literature
Type: BOOK - Published: 1996 - Publisher: Peter Lang Gmbh, Internationaler Verlag Der Wissenschaften

In -The New York Trilogy-, Paul Auster presents the readers a maze of crimes, detectives and culprits that reaches far beyond the bounds of the traditional detective novel. This book analyzes how Auster causes the detective novel's standard formula to collapse and discusses the strategies employed to do so. The
New York Trilogy
Language: en
Pages: 156
Authors: Paul Hallasy
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2000-03-06 - Publisher: iUniverse

New York Trilogy follows the lead characer, Perry, from his days as a student at New York University to his initiation into the gay scene, the early days of the AIDS crisis, and his first relationships. When I began writing this book, I didn't realize that it would eventually become
Subverting Masculinity
Language: en
Pages: 268
Authors: Paul Hallasy
Categories: Law
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-08-04 - Publisher: BRILL

Contemporary Western societies are currently witness to a “crisis of masculinity” but also to an intriguing diversification of images of masculinity. Once relatively stable regimes of masculine gender representation appear to have been replaced by a wider spectrum of varieties of masculine “lifestyles” taken up by the media and the