The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot

The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot

Author: Marianne Cronin

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780063017511

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 598

Download Now
“A beautiful debut, funny, tender, and animated by a willingness to confront life’s obstacles and find a way to survive. . . . It celebrates friendship, finds meaning in difficulty and lets the reader explore dark places while always allowing for the possibility of light. Lenni and Margot are fine companions for all our springtime journeys.”—Harper’s Bazaar, UK A charming, fiercely alive and disarmingly funny debut novel in the vein of John Green, Rachel Joyce, and Jojo Moyes—a brave testament to the power of living each day to the fullest, a tribute to the stories that we live, and a reminder of our unlimited capacity for friendship and love. An extraordinary friendship. A lifetime of stories. Seventeen-year-old Lenni Pettersson lives on the Terminal Ward at the Glasgow Princess Royal Hospital. Though the teenager has been told she’s dying, she still has plenty of living to do. Joining the hospital’s arts and crafts class, she meets the magnificent Margot, an 83-year-old, purple-pajama-wearing, fruitcake-eating rebel, who transforms Lenni in ways she never imagined. As their friendship blooms, a world of stories opens for these unlikely companions who, between them, have been alive for one hundred years. Though their days are dwindling, both are determined to leave their mark on the world. With the help of Lenni’s doting palliative care nurse and Father Arthur, the hospital’s patient chaplain, Lenni and Margot devise a plan to create one hundred paintings showcasing the stories of the century they have lived—stories of love and loss, of courage and kindness, of unexpected tenderness and pure joy. Though the end is near, life isn’t quite done with these unforgettable women just yet. Delightfully funny and bittersweet, heartbreaking yet ultimately uplifting, The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot reminds us of the preciousness of life as it considers the legacy we choose to leave, how we influence the lives of others even after we’re gone, and the wonder of a friendship that transcends time.
The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Marianne Cronin
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-01 - Publisher: HarperCollins

“A beautiful debut, funny, tender, and animated by a willingness to confront life’s obstacles and find a way to survive. . . . It celebrates friendship, finds meaning in difficulty and lets the reader explore dark places while always allowing for the possibility of light. Lenni and Margot are fine
The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot
Language: en
Pages: 314
Authors: Marianne Cronin
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-02-18 - Publisher: Random House

**LONGLISTED FOR THE AUTHOR'S CLUB FIRST NOVEL AWARD** 'Emotional, involving, witty and sad. Everyone is going to love Lenni and Margot' JILL MANSELL 'Lenni and Margot are two of the most wonderful, warm, witty and wise heroines I've ever met. Beautiful and glorious' CLARE POOLEY, author of The Authenticity Project
The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Marianne Cronin
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06 - Publisher: Harper

"Graceful, intelligent, beautiful writing. Full of wisdom and kindness. It is just the kind of book I adore."--Joanna Cannon, author of the international bestseller The Trouble with Goats and Sheep A charming, fiercely alive and disarmingly funny debut novel in the vein of John Green, Rachel Joyce, and Jojo Moyes--a
ONE HUNDRED YEARS OF LENNI AND MARGOT
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: MARIANNE. CRONIN
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022 - Publisher:

Books about ONE HUNDRED YEARS OF LENNI AND MARGOT
Teaching and Reading New Adult Literature in High School and College
Language: en
Pages: 221
Authors: Sharon Kane
Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-11-10 - Publisher: Taylor & Francis

An introduction to the rapidly growing category of New Adult (NA) literature, this text provides a roadmap to understanding and introducing NA books to young people in high school, college, libraries, and other settings. As a window into the experiences and unique challenges that young and new adults encounter, New