The Saturday Night Ghost Club

The Saturday Night Ghost Club

Author: Craig Davidson

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780525505723

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 277

Download Now
An irresistible and bittersweet coming-of-age story in the vein of Stranger Things and Stand by Me about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends "A celebration of the secret lives of children, both their wonders and their horrors . . . Immensely enjoyable, piercingly clever, and satisfyingly soulful." -Jason Heller, NPR Growing up in 1980s Niagara Falls - a seedy but magical, slightly haunted place - Jake Baker spends most of his time with his uncle Calvin, a kind but eccentric enthusiast of occult artifacts and conspiracy theories. The summer Jake turns twelve, he befriends a pair of siblings new to town, and so Calvin decides to initiate them all into the "Saturday Night Ghost Club." But as the summer goes on, what begins as a seemingly light-hearted project may ultimately uncover more than any of its members had imagined. With the alternating warmth and sadness of the best coming-of-age stories, The Saturday Night Ghost Club is a note-perfect novel that poignantly examines the haunting mutability of memory and storytelling, as well as the experiences that form the people we become, and establishes Craig Davidson as a remarkable literary talent.
The Saturday Night Ghost Club
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Craig Davidson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-07-09 - Publisher: Penguin

An irresistible and bittersweet coming-of-age story in the vein of Stranger Things and Stand by Me about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends "A celebration of the secret lives of children, both their wonders and their horrors . .
The Saturday Night Ghost Club
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Craig Davidson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017 - Publisher:

Books about The Saturday Night Ghost Club
The Troop
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Nick Cutter
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-08-16 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Once every year, Scoutmaster Tim Riggs leads a troop of boys into the Canadian wilderness for a weekend camping trip. This year, something is waiting in the darkness. Something wicked ... An intruder stumbles upon their campsite like a wild animal. He is shockingly thin, disturbingly pale, and voraciously hungry.
The Deep
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Nick Cutter
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-08-16 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

"In the Pacific Ocean, a special research lab has been built eight miles below the surface to study a newly discovered substance that initial reports indicate may be a universal healer. But now the station is incommunicado, and a brave few descend through the lightless fathoms hoping to unravel the
Cascade
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Craig Davidson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-08-18 - Publisher: Knopf Canada

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2021 TRILLIUM BOOK AWARDS From the bestselling author of The Saturday Night Ghost Club and Canada Reads-finalist Precious Cargo comes this supremely satisfying collection of stories. Reminiscent of Stephen King's brilliantly cinematic short stories that went on to inspire films such as The Shawshank Redemption and Stand