The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club

The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club

Author: Dorothy L Sayers

Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks

ISBN: 1473621313

Category:

Page: 288

View: 562

Download Now
The fifth book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by detective fiction writer Simon Brett - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. Lord Peter Wimsey bent down over General Fentiman and drew the Morning Post gently away from the gnarled old hands. Then, with a quick jerk, he lifted the quiet figure. It came up all of a piece, stiff as a wooden doll . . . But how did the general die? Who was the mysterious Mr X who fled when he was wanted for questioning? And which of the general's heirs, both members of the Bellona Club, is lying? 'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James
The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Dorothy L Sayers
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-08-25 - Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks

The fifth book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by detective fiction writer Simon Brett - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. Lord Peter Wimsey bent down over General Fentiman and drew the Morning Post gently away from the
Dorothy L. Sayers
Language: en
Pages: 232
Authors: Eric Sandberg
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-12-17 - Publisher: McFarland

Dorothy L. Sayers was one of the "Queens of Crime." Alongside writers like Agatha Christie, she perfected the whodunnit, but also used the genre to explore social, ethical, and emotional matters. Her characters, particularly Lord Peter Wimsey and his investigative partner Harriet Vane, struggle with the complexities of life and
Great British Fictional Detectives
Language: en
Pages: 241
Authors: Russell James
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-04-21 - Publisher: Remember When

The first full-length study of its type highlighting over 400 British literary detectives, many famous through their film and TV adaptations. Using essays to highlight different types of detectives and focusing on some of the more famous such as Sherlock Holmes and Inspector Morse, popular crime fiction writer and former
The Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries Volume Two
Language: en
Pages: 1693
Authors: Dorothy L. Sayers
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-06-12 - Publisher: Open Road Media

The British aristocrat and sleuth takes on four more puzzling whodunits in this beloved series from “one of the greatest mystery story writers” (Los Angeles Times). A gentleman needs hobbies. For Lord Peter Wimsey—a Great War veteran with a touch of shell shock—collecting rare books, sampling fine wines, and catching
Dorothy L Sayers: A Biography
Language: en
Pages: 157
Authors: Colin Duriez
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-18 - Publisher: Lion Books

Dorothy L. Sayers was a woman of contrasts. A strong Christian, she had a baby – out of wedlock – by a man she did not love. Possessing a fierce intellect, she translated Dante, and also created one of the most popular fictional detectives ever in Lord Peter Wimsey. Drawing