Unorthodox

Unorthodox

Author: Deborah Feldman

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

ISBN: 9781982148201

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 272

View: 583

Download Now
Now a Netflix original series! Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author. As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path—for herself and her son—to happiness and freedom. Remarkable and fascinating, this “sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story” (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette) is one you won’t be able to put down.
Unorthodox
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Deborah Feldman
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-03-03 - Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Now a Netflix original series! Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author. As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic
Biography of Deborah Feldman
Language: en
Pages: 20
Authors: The Hyperink Team
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-03-02 - Publisher: Hyperink Inc

This book is part of Hyperink's best little books series. Our best little books are 1,500-3,000 words of fast, entertaining information on a highly demanded topic. Based on reader feedback (including yours!), we may expand this book in the future. If we do so, we'll send a free copy to
Unorthodox
Language: en
Pages: 254
Authors: Deborah Feldman
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-02-14 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Traces the author's upbringing in a Hasidic community in Brooklyn, describing the strict rules that governed her life, arranged marriage at the age of seventeen, and the birth of her son, which led to her plan to leave and forge her own path in life.
Sounds of a New Generation
Language: en
Pages: 204
Authors: Deborah Wallrabenstein
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-10-31 - Publisher: transcript Verlag

This book offers insight into the approaches of a new generation of Jewish-American writers. Whether they reimagine their ancestors' "shtetl life" or invent their own kind of Jewishness, they have a common curiosity in what makes them Jewish. Is it because most of them are third-generation Americans who don't worry
A Fortress in Brooklyn
Language: en
Pages: 408
Authors: Nathaniel Deutsch, Michael Casper
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-11 - Publisher: Yale University Press

Hasidic Williamsburg is famous as one of the most separatist, intensely religious, and politically savvy communities in the entire United States. Less known is how the community survived in one of New York City's toughest neighborhoods during an era of steep decline, only to later oppose and also participate in